top of page

Here comes the rain again...

The forecast for the day is light showers and since my first race is at 9.15 am and there is no early free bus to the stadium Neil and I decide t walk it. It's only about 1.5 miles so should warm me up nicely.

Well it sounded like a good plan, except by the time we leave for the stadium it is hammering it down! We walk the 1.5 miles to the indoor warm up centre but we are both drenched. This is despite my waterproof clothing...

School girl error I should have got a taxi down, even my socks are wet and I have no spares. Hmm racing in soggy socks fun! Still no time to dwell, time to warm up and get ready for my race. I am starting to feel like I might be getting my racing edge back after a few weeks off with my niggle and I am optimistic I can run a good time. I decide I really want to go for it and have a plan on how to run my 200.

I am again nervous but in the call room get talking to a lovely girl from Sweden. Vanessa from Malmo and we chatter in the call room and all the way out to the start.

I am in heat 3 with Vanessa lane 5. It is still raining but not as heavy as earlier. We are called to starters orders and I nearly get ready in the wrong lane as it is empty, well that would have been interesting! Settling into my blocks I focus and get ready to run a fast time.

BANG! I am out of my blocks and drive out hard and fast it feels good. I try to cruise the next 50 and kick hard at the top bend. I feel great and then something in my lower calf or achillies flexes like a band. In a split second I nearly come to a stop and feel gutted but decide to keep driving through the line I don't feel like I can force it but its weird at the same time I feel strong as I cross the line. I am disappointed and fear my champs are over. I look at Neil and explain what has happened.

It doesn't feel awful and I decide to get some treatment on it straight away. I am not interested in my time at this point and just keen to hear what the physio thinks.

I later find out I was 4th and just missed out on a place in the semis, I'm 17th, needing to be in the top 16 to qualify, my time is 29.21, actually not that bad in the end considering.

I get some great treatment on it and not making the semis means I get an extra days rest.

Later that day we have a meeting about the relays, I have put my name forward for the 100 and 400 and through team discussion I am in and we have 2 reserves, a few of us are struggling with injuries and niggles. It's not been the best day but I am pleased I got treatment straight away and will see how I get on with 2 days rest. I am really keen to run the relays as I feel this is where they could be a chance of a medal and how cool would that be :)

Us

Meet the team, Pocket Rocket, Trail Blazer and Insane Bolt here

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page