top of page

Kilkenny Medieval Marathon

As like a few of my races this year, Kilkenny Medieval Marathon was a little last minute. I realised that if I hopped over to the Emerald Isle for a juant I would have completed road marathons in England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales, all within the year. I booked it just after Snowdonia Marathon late July, the problem was come September my leg was still giving me trouble, despite seeing sports physio’s, having regular sport massages and doing strengthening exercises…..in fact it was only 24 hrs before the flight that I decided I was going to run it.

Never having been to Ireland before I was excited as I woke at stupid o’clock in the morning to catch my flight (I use the term woke loosely as I didn’t sleep well at all) to land in Dublin just after 8. I picked up my hire car and contemplated stopping off at one of the numerous parkruns on offer en-route to Kilkenny, Dublin had about 6 alone to choose from. The Irish must love their lie ins as parkrun start at 9:30 :). I decided I’d be pushing my luck with time – not to mention my gammy leg so I crack on.

I arrive at Kilkenny to see the end of their parkrun and what a stunning location it is! The route takes you around the grounds of Kilkenny castle and the beautiful gardens. It was a shame I missed it really. A quick tour of the castle and I head off to collect my tshirt and bib number at the taproom just down the road. I take a stroll around the town, by now there’s plenty of runners about. Today’s festival will see a marathon, 30k, half marathon and a 10k take place. There are a few serious runners mixed with a few not so serious, running as knights and fair maidens. This was the 2nd year of hosting the festival and organisation seemed to be well under control. The DJ was playing some enthusiastic tunes and the crowds were beginning to gather to watch the start of the first two races – full and 30k. As I start to warm up I spot pacers…deciding I’d give my knee a go and try to stick with the 3:45 guys.

This plan was soon scuppered though as I lost the Pacers at the start despite the balloons tagged to them! The pace was fast and I wasn’t the only one chasing them down - with the first 4 miles being sub average 8mm – we eventually catch them on the brow of a hill. I pass the pacers with the idea of keeping them just behind me. It soon became apparent that this wasn’t going to happen, when at 7 miles they passed me at an easy pace. I’m not sure if this was me “hitting the Wall” can you hit it at only 7 miles in??? I felt awful. My left leg was hurting, my right ITB was beginning to niggle, I felt cold and tired….and I was fighting back tears. I decided that I would cut this short and take the half marathon route back. So onwards I struggled, by now we were out in the country lanes with farms and small villages surrounding us. I really underestimated this course, thinking it would be fairly flat but it was undulating, winding through Irish country lanes with a mahosive climb about 10 miles in. By now it was getting ugly, not even on the mahosive downhill could I make up for any time, my legs refused to move any faster. I’d somehow missed the turn off point for the half and was keeping an eye out for the 30k turn off. At the 30k marker I realized I’d missed it again, what? – was I that tired I was running with my eyes closed?!?!?

With just three miles to go and a dreary run alongside the dual carriageway back to town I could hear the 4 hour pacers closing in. Eventually they caught up, using their Irish wit and charm to cajole me along, encouraging me not to give up, short of telling them to Feck off (My new word for the weekend) I told them to carry on without me…I’d try my best to keep them in my sights. I began to recognise the return leg back into Kilkenny Castle and amazingly caught up with the pacers and their crew. Encouraged by their fab support I managed to dip in just under the 4 hours at 3:58:18…still not sure where that came burst of energy came from.

I collect my medal and limp off with my tail between my legs. I was annoyed, running with no constructive plan and little rest between races, I only had myself to blame. I was cold, wet and tired, I sought out the tapyard for some hot food and a coffee. There was quite an atmosphere here with people celebrating their accomplishments and after chatting to some fellow runners I soon thawed. I began to realise I did pretty darn good. I was ready to quit at 7 miles but stubbornly carried on to cross that finish line. I’d completed a challenge I’d set myself a year ago (although I’d never expected to complete it within the year he he).

I’m a little late with this blog, hesitant to revisit it lol but now 6 weeks on I ask myself..….Will I revisit Kilkenny, absolutely, would I run the marathon..probably

On a side note: the following day I spent some time in Dublin sight seeing, those cheesy double decker hop on buses are ideal when you’ve done yourself a mischief running a marathon.

Us

Meet the team, Pocket Rocket, Trail Blazer and Insane Bolt here

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page