top of page

Rejection again!

VMLM 2017

I’m not sure what the lure of the London marathon is for me. My runs tend to be chosen based on scenery. In the past I’ve ran Cheddar Gorge, Dale, Vale of Glamorgan coastal, Preseli Beast, all of which have had breath taking views. Even my training runs are becoming more off the beaten path, the short and sharp road runs due to time restraints. When I think of London I think of busy city life, travel and accommodation costs, crowds – hordes of people yet it’s a so so iconic race. Passing famous landmarks such as Tower Bridge, Canary Wharf and Buckingham palace to name but a few, running alongside sporting personalities, celebrities and heroes, the world record breakers, to be a part of something “big” . Not to mention the cheers from spectators along the way. Being part of a club, you realise how prestigious this marathon is, there is so much support and camaraderie not just from the lucky runners who’ve secured a place but also from the unlucky ones, sometimes for the 6th, 7th 8th year running, who still travel to London to support and spectate.

Then a part of me wonders whether the attraction is the thrill of the ballot, winning the golden ticket, securing a place in the most coveted marathon in the UK. Afraid I’m going to miss out on something. But alas this year it wasn’t meant to be, after 6 nail biting days I finally got my rejection letter…yes letter! Not a magazine or fancy email. It was a simple A4 sheet of paper bearing the bad news.

There may be a glimmer of hope for next year though, I did an alright time in my Loch Ness marathon, certainly well with-in the GFA (good for age – turning 40 has its advantages) time, it’s whether the powers that be at Virgin Money London Marathon will accept the Loch Ness course as a qualifying marathon…..however, I’ve heard a rumour that Boston Marathon will accept it so if London won’t have me, then may be a trip overseas is due.


Us

Meet the team, Pocket Rocket, Trail Blazer and Insane Bolt here

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page