top of page

Hawaii 50

Haven't done a lot of blogging lately for fear of repeating myself and boring you all...

So after Denmark I pretty much took the month or so off. I did a few fun events and things I dont normally get to do such as parkrun and and 8 mile run with friends!

Then in October it was back to serious training with Team Pearce.

Training consisting of a 10 - 15 minute daily exercise routine after breakfast Monday though to Friday. 10 Pullups, 10 Dips, 10 Squats, 10 pressup and 10 bridge raises with some sprinting arms thrown in for good measure x 3

Before this every weekday when I get up I go through various stretches and this has been a good addition and kept niggles to a minimum.

Mondays are gym nights a mixture of drills, plyo, circuits and now fixed weights. I have started an all round weights programme which I have surprisingly enjoyed. Initially it was hard to get the balance right as I have 2 gym sessions a week Mondays and Wednesdays and then track sessions Tuesday and Thursdays. A few time I got this wrong and found I really suffered on the track.

Still overtime I have mostly got this right. I am very much learning in athletics less is more (quality not quantity) As a result I have felt a lot stronger on track, hopefully this will lead to faster times but I am very much a work in progress.

Fridays were an active recovery. Saturdays were mostly drills, plyo, med ball and circuits and track. Sundays are a rest/active recovery.

I got some great training done October through to December.

January saw me pick up a sickness bug that wiped me out for a week and then a few weeks later I got a mild cold but on the whole I feel in a good place.

In January around my illnesses I managed 3 cheeky competitions.

I won the Welsh Indoor Masters 200m champs on January 2018. That was the night I was violently sick so probably explains why my time was a little slower than I hoped.

I turned 50 on January 28th and decided to enter the Welsh Indoor Senior champs 60m. Something I could not have dreamed of as a youngster let alone a 50 year old. I was always on a hiding to nothing but wanted to compete in the Welsh Champs even if only once! I was last but not too far behind the others so who knows next year...

The week following my birthday I was struck down with a cold. It wasn't a bad cold but decided not to train in the week leading up to my 60m Welsh Masters Indoor Champs. I felt well enough to compete and just managed to pull out the win. See Photo below! I was pleased with my time the fastest I had run ever this time of year and not feeling 100 I feel there is more to come!

So I write now with 2 big events coming up the 60m and 200m UK Champs I would like to do well here with indoor pbs and Medals. Hopefully the gold in the 60m. This will set me up nicely for Madrid and the European Indoor Masters Champs. I would like to get to 2 finals and again aim for pbs. I am really excited about these events and looking forward to catching up with some amazing masters friends I have made over the last year or two.

I hope to blog following both these events :)

Photo finish 60m 04th Feb 2018 NIAC

Us

Meet the team, Pocket Rocket, Trail Blazer and Insane Bolt here

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page