top of page

Cross Country…Should I stay or Should I go?

I promised myself that I would undergo a focused Winter Training Programme through 2016/17 with the view to improving my running times from 1 mile to Half Marathon.

So along comes the Gwent Cross Country League race 1 on Sunday 16th October and I start to doubt myself and my ability. Why? Is it because the Gwent League is tough? Actually it is very tough. Is it because I am not good enough to compete? Yes, the quality of the field is excellent and I will do well not to come last.

But my sudden lack of belief was exactly the reason I wanted to do it. Draining Training. To put myself in a situation where the objective was to gain strength, improve cardio-respiratory ability, improve posture when fatigued.

I thought twice about writing this article before the results were verified and issued, but then to a certain extent I don’t really care about my result within the context of the race, as my ability will not affect the result. I only care about three things: -

1) Gaining winter strength and conditioning in order to improve on all road based distances in 2017. XC is therefore a means to an end. 2) To understand how I ran and to improve my average mile per minute time for the next Cross Country outing on Sunday 23rd October in the Gwent Leisure Centre League. Tracking progression is important. 3) Representing Lliswerry Runners. When I put on the club vest, I do so with immense pride.

Gwent Cross Country League, Bridgend

Gwent Cross Country League, Newbridge Fields, Bridgend, 16 October 2016

Time: 56:13, 6.3 miles

Us

Meet the team, Pocket Rocket, Trail Blazer and Insane Bolt here

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page