top of page

Merthyr Mawr

Setting off to Merthyr Mawr early on Sunday I was looking forward to the session but feeling a bit lethargic. Could have been the social cycle in my legs the day before but to be honest that was a pretty easy effort.

We always start the session with roughly an easy 5 minute jog just to warm up. Then over to the sand dunes for our drills. It's always funny working out on sand especially after our standard track training. The sand gives way as you work out on it thus building strength and working out your muscles in a completely different way.

Next we move on to three 800 repeats following a familiar loop with plenty of ups and downs. I feel good on the first lap and at the first steep climb I am feeling stronger than last year, I think. That said no chance of getting complacent. I tire towards the end of the first lap. We take a recovery and it's off for the 2nd where I can feel my quads burning towards the last sandy climb, grateful again for the recovery. My third and final lap is my slowest but I do power up the last run gasping for air as I do. I come in last out of my team but no shame there. Need to build on my speed endurance over the winter which is sadly lacking!

Next up it's over to some plyometrics in the sand. More repeats of high knees, hop on one leg and bunny hops on 2 legs the latter both being up a short sandy incline. I struggle with my hops which have felt good in recent sessions up stairs indoors. Again something to work on through the winter. I need to generate more power for my block starts, with improved strength and technique.

Now we do some medicine ball drills. First 10 slams into the sand, next some explosive over back throws. These will help with my block starts so will look to improve my technique with these exercises.

We now move up to jogging up the hill and then coming around and sprinting down. The idea coach Stu reminds is to relax as you come down fast, driving knees high and pumping with arms. I am both a bit rusty and nervous of missing my footing and tumbling down the sand! The first one is a bit of a mess. But the next 2 get better each time. Still not perfect but something to work on next time.

Now it's 3 hill sprints. We split into 2 teams, on your marks, get set, go! Then I try to power up the hill for 7 secs to see how far I can get up a pretty steep sandy incline. I am sure this will help me smash my indoor 60m time this year.

I am feeling tired now, we get a few minutes recovery and then it's an endurance jog up and over some dunes. The idea is to get to the top without stopping. I manage this for the first time, so some progress there but it is painfully slow and again I am last to the top....

Our last stint for the day is over by the 'Big Dipper' aptly named as it is a 60m wall of sand. We start with 3 small loops of dunes to the side of this with 30 secs recovery, again my legs are burning but I don't give in and complete. After a short recovery I begin my assent of the 'Dipper' I get about half way up and eventually give up . I am again at the back but the team cheer me up and I drive up the last 20 metres gasping for air. I need to be able to get up this beast in one effort and push pass over the top and beyond to another viewing point.

We all run down the Big Dipper I know I am tired as I don't get up much speed but on reaching the bottom that's the first Merthyr Mawr session in the bag.

A tough workout that if I can learn to smash will bring me the rewards I seek for 2017 🚀

The next session is on 20th November bring it on!

Team Lewis

Us

Meet the team, Pocket Rocket, Trail Blazer and Insane Bolt here

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page