top of page

What motivates you?

This week I have found training quite tough, not so much my track sessions but more trying to fit in my additional training, like easy recovery runs, pilates and fitness yoga.

I am finding the increased activity difficult to fit around work and I have been feeling a little tired. I just need 6 weeks for my body to adapt to the new training regime.

By Wednesday I was starting to think about how I would fit it all in and whether perhaps one day off would not be so bad...

Then I get 2 pieces of inspiration. First my mentor Dave Profitt who is competing this week in the World Masters Championships out in Perth posts that he has smashed his pb in the 8K cross country. As planned he was pushing to be in the top 3 for Team GB and so has picked up a Team GB Bronze. Awesome news! Dave is an inspirational character around club and I have watched him train smart all year. He has been super dedicated and deserves his success.

Dave was the person who got be to join Harriers to further my athletics ambition so this is the shot in the arm I need.

I also look at the 100m final qualifying times in Perth. To have got to the final I would have needed to run 13.42s which is roughly my target time for next year.

Hmm I think I can't afford to miss my training so I drag my sorry self out for a 2 mile easy jog, not that I find it easy but I least I get it done and will be better for it.

Next I head to a new class of yoga fitness which provides both a good strength workout with some much needed stretching to help improve my flexibility.

Thanks Dave :)

Us

Meet the team, Pocket Rocket, Trail Blazer and Insane Bolt here

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page