top of page

3 Fantastic Reasons for the Long Slow Run (LSR)

  • What is a long run?

  • What does slow mean?

  • How should I feel throughout the run?

  • Why do a LSR?

When I started running my longest run was 3 miles (Cardiff parkrun) therefore it kind of made sense that a long run would be further. I did not know what speed I should run at, or indeed how far I should push. I remember first starting to exceed the 3 mile barrier thinking I had to maintain the same parkrun speed when increasing mileage to 4 miles and then 5, and failing to run the whole way because I could not breathe!

What was really hard was defining a route that took me far enough away from home so I had to cover the same distance back, but not too far should I get injured, bored or walk home.

So why would an LSR benefit you? A long slow run will expose your muscles and joints to an increase in impact. Simply put, the further you run the more times your feet will hit the ground. It will expose your cardiovascular/respiratory system to a longer workout than it is used to. Granted a short, fast run is hard work, but you finish it quickly and you recover quickly. The LSR exposes your energy systems to a longer, slower burn and will allow your muscles, tendons and ligaments and skeleton to adapt, giving a broader base of strength and endurance.

I liken this to a teenager speeding around town in a hot-hatch burning petrol at a rate of knots. Remember the Fiesta XR2i. Before long the vehicle is being re-fuelled more often and probably in need of servicing due to unnecessary wear and tear. The LSR is a longer, slower more economical drive allowing the engine to run more smoothly and therefore saving energy and not giving the shock absorbers a pasting.

Also, do not ignore the fact that the longer you run with a lower heart rate (circa 60-65%), the body will burn more fat than if you were running shorter, quicker distances. Some suggest the heart rate should be in the region of 20% lower than your normal short quick run. I cannot vouch whether this is accurate, but we are all different, so a) it kind of makes sense and b) just make sure you can carry out a conversation.

Your body will also continue to metabolise energy for a long period after your LSR, so you get an increased fat burn when doing nothing – now bask in that glory!

So what have I learned since joining Lliswerry Runners: -

  1. Improved muscle, joint, ligament, skeletal strength when exposing the body to at least one LSR per week, with friends

  2. Improved cardiovascular/respiratory ability

  3. Increased fat metabolism ( I have lost 5 stone since I started running and 2 stone since joining Lliswerry)

  4. Have a ‘SMART’ goal; one that inspires you and gives you that vital reason to complete a LSR. That could be a 10k if you have never done one before, a Half Marathon, Marathon or for my ‘special’ friends an Ultra Marathon.

For me, as my experience has grown, as my ability has improved I have come to understand that a long run can be anything that should be beyond your usual ability and a slow run should be taken to mean that you can chat for the duration of the run.

Keep it Simple...Run with friends who have a similar goal.

Us

Meet the team, Pocket Rocket, Trail Blazer and Insane Bolt here

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page