top of page

Indoor Season Around the Corner...


Looking forward to the indoors this year, this was where it all started for me 2 years ago. I rocked up in 2015 not realising I had entered the the Welsh Championships - oops, still I survived. What was funny was my first 400 indoor race with a lady that looked a good bit older than me. So in my 'big head' I am thinking that's ok I will go easy on her. Only to find out at the start that she was the 60 year old world record holder. I felt a little smaller than usual on the b of 'bang' and got a right whooping, what a numpty!

Last year I fared a little better and found the indoor season a good gauge to how the winter training was going.

Today I have entered the first event of the season - Met GP 1 - Christmas Classic

This event will be on on Sunday 11 December and I have entered the 60m and 300m

In preparation for this we have some block training planned Saturday 26th November and 3rd December. I would expect to be a bit rusty this time of year as no real speed training or race practice but training has been going well. I feel stronger and healthier than the same time last year.

I find this time of year really exciting as I don't know how I will perform. Will I be faster by the end of the indoor season than last year? I am optimistic as this is my nature but I just don't know and at 48, almost 49 can I keep getting faster. I need to keep getting a lot faster if I am to fulfil my ambitions at competing in Europe in 2017. Hotel booked for Denmark - yikes!

My currant pbs for the indoors are:

60m - 8.83 - ok

200m - 30.17 - slow

300m - 48.62 - dont know as 300s rare...

400m - 67.3 - surprised to be this fast in March 2016

My goals for the indoor season are:

60m - 8.5 - perhaps a bit too much but we will see!

200m - 29.8 - looking for some steady progress

300m - 47.62 - feel stronger so we shall see

400m - sub 67.3 - would be happy with a new pb :)

I have a few events planned from December through to March and will share the highs and lows.

Fingers crossed the hard work will pay off :)

Us

Meet the team, Pocket Rocket, Trail Blazer and Insane Bolt here

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page