top of page

Woohoo First Indoor Competition


Team Lewis

I had been looking forward to this one for weeks and it did not disappoint. I competed in this one last year but I had forgotten what a fun and relaxed atmosphere it was! Met GP 1 - Christmas Classic

I had entered the 300m and a 60m along with most of my team, the amazing 'Team Lewis' from Newport Harriers. There was a good turnout from the club.

The event itself is open, so open to all ages from U17 and upwards. We had Christmas tunes playing in between races and the team were buzzing. Most of the team had either entered the 300 or a 60. I seemed to be the only one who was doing both. I was aware my races were one after another but thought with the heats there would be enough time to recover. How wrong I was!

I get there in plenty of time to chill and have a coffee watch some of the early races on the programme and soak up the atmosphere with the gang.

I warm up for about an hour beforehand running through drills, foam rolling and lots of stretching. I am slightly distracted as most of the team are racing just before me so I end up watching their races from the sidelines. The team is smashing it and I want a piece of the action!

In my 300 heat I am up against against a youngster who my team mate Lisa tells me can run 800 in 2 mins 20 that's a lot faster than me lol. Also there are 2 other masters athletes. We are lead out by the race officials and the adrenaline is starting to kick in. The team and family are cheering, gulp here goes. I look at the opposition and decide that I need to get out fast and try and push the youngster (U20). I have run 2 x 300s time trials in training a few days before and only managed a lowly 51 secs, my pb being 48.62 so really not sure what to expect.

I here the gun and blast out of the blocks I take the lead and move into the inside lane as soon as I am allowed to take track position. I feel the youngster close behind but just keep pushing and driving I am still in the lead at 100 and surprisingly 200 at 250 on the top of the bend I kick again but about 260/270m I know I am in trouble and the juice is running out. I keep pushing to the line but finish in 2nd place. On the plus side its a new pb, not by much 48.38 but still i'll take that. I only run one 300 a year and this is it. It a good benchmark to where I am in training.

I am now puffing like a good 'un and immediately up is my 60m. I go over to the check in to see what heat I am in. To my dismay it's not the last one but the 4th so within what only seems to be a few minutes but is probably a bit more I am called up again. Still out of breath I take to the 60m start line. We are introduced to the crowd and we are off again. There there is a master in the race but its a mixture of seniors and U20s. I get a slow start and I am really off the pace. I am trying to pick it up but there's not much time in the 60 and I am still out of breath lol. Message to self enter 300 or 60 like your teammates next year.

I am well off my pb with a slow 9.13, pb is 8.83 I am disappointed but i guess it's understandable and just goes to show perhaps I am not superwomen after all.

On the plus side my cousin and one of my team mates make the final so I decide to keep the fun going and stay to watch them race. I now have an hour or so to watch other races and cool down. Meanwhile I am having so much fun, the team are still buzzing and I am sooo disappointed with my 60 I decide to enter the Santa dash. As luck would have it they have 2 places left so I twist my team mate 'Corkys' arm, we have our Santa oufits and we are in the race.

The Santa dash is a 60m race with everyone dressed in a full Santa outfit. Its a one size fits all. Corky is 6 ft 5 and I am 5 ft nothing! It fits neither of us. I have my Santa suit tucked in and rolled up everywhere. If you think of the hulk you will get an idea of how Corky is looking!

We again get introduced to the crowd only to learn that one of the chaps in the race is attempting a world record for 60m in as a Santa. The gun goes again I push out and soon realise my legs are like lead. Might have helped if I had warm up! Still I finish in my santa dash in 9.27 not too shabby in a Santa suit! The winner gets a Welsh record in a fantastic 7.12!

It's been a great afternoon with my team, my cousin and team mate come in 5 and 6th both with pbs. The team overall as done really well, we are all in a good place for the 2017 indoor season.

Bring it on!

Us

Meet the team, Pocket Rocket, Trail Blazer and Insane Bolt here

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page