top of page

Welsh Masters Indoor Championships


The Welsh Indoor Masters Championships is run over 2 days several weeks apart.

Day 1 - 15th January 2017

I had entered the 200m as a Welsh Master and owing to the high signup for the overall event my race was not sure on until about 5pm, originally it was 4pm...

The Welsh Masters share the event with NIAC as an open event and the South West as their Championships. This year across all competitions it was a bumper entry!

I decided to run a 60m in the open event in the morning just to see where I was at...

When I saw the heats on the day I was quite pleased as I seemed to be in a heat that pushed me and would be good competition.

I prepared and warmed up as usual and felt quite good, other than a sore heal which I seemed to have picked up a few weeks ago in training. I was feeling quite good.

I got to the call room about 15 minutes before ,my race start time and was looking forward to it.

I had lane 3 with a faster athlete on paper in lane 2 and an empty lane (no show) to my right in lane 4. I set up my blocks on some new settings I had been trying and was looking forward to the race.

Unfortunately I have a habit of going on the G of bang and today was no exception! So playing catch up in the first few steps. I start to pick up well at about 40 metres but by then the race is over and I know the time is not going to be good. It was 8.96 somewhat off my pb.

I am disappointed with the performance so some things for me to put right for my Welsh Masters Championship race on the 5th February - watch this space...

Many of my team are racing so I warm down. By this time I am starving, how can 60 metres of effort make me so hungry! I settle back into the crowd to soak up some great competition from team mates and friends.

I am also keeping an eye out for my great racing buddy who is doing her first indoor championships, she is just a baby and has only just turned 35 a few months before.

When she turns up we pick up her race numbers and after a quick catch up we start to warm up for our Masters 200m. There will be 4 in our race 2 x 35+, 1 x 40+ and me (45+). The aim for my buddy Vicky and myself is to win in our age categories. I am also keen to win the race outright.

When we get called to the call room turns out one of our ladies is a no show so we get Jane Horder a slightly older lady in our race. She is a quality masters athlete and I realise she will be difficult to beat. She has competed all over the world and in fact as we walk over to the start she says she is competing in the in both the European Championships in Denmark and the World Indoor Championships in South Korea in March - Gulp...

By now both myself and Vicky's nerves have cranked up a notch. Just to add to the tension we have 2 false starts...

BANG! And we are off, yikes here we go again my aim is to fly out of the blocks I have lane one so can see everyone in front of me. I do my best but I do not pass the first athlete until about the 70/80 metre mark. My plan is to kick half way around the top bend. It is hard to tell where I am in the race due to the bends. I grit my teeth and decide to go for it. I finish in first place but when I glance at the clock I am a little disappointed. This is not uncommon for me...

On reflection the time is pants but I did race well. My coach is pleased with my performance so I need to take that on board and work hard in training as I have big goals for the season and dont feel I am quite where I need to be. But its all about the European Championships in the summer so there is time and definitely motivation to improve.

I am as pleased as punch as Vicky gets gold in her race so all in all happy days!

After a cool down its back to the spectating to see the rest of the team smash it. My Coach Stuart Pearce puts in an inspirational performance in his 200m masters to take gold. Mike Pollock my training buddy gets a bronze in his fist ever masters championship 200m race, awesome!

Corky, Holly, Tom and Joel put in strong performances in their races and Lisa smashes her pb in the last event a 400 ladies race. Another long and fun day out with the Athletics crew.

Great to also catch up with many of my Welsh Masters friends, some great performances all round.

I love athletics! Not matter what your age, why not give it a bash :)

Also a massive thanks must go to the officials and all the volunteers on the day. The event was brilliant and very well organised :)

Looking forward to part 2 on the 5th February when I have 60m and 400m Welsh Masters titles to compete for!

Thanks to Neil Sidney and Roger Garland for the images above :)

Us

Meet the team, Pocket Rocket, Trail Blazer and Insane Bolt here

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page