top of page

Fun in Funchal

I enjoy January as it offers the chance to recharge the battery, take the annual break away of the gloom of the great British Winter and immerse myself in the warmth of Winter sun in Funchal. So it all started with a holiday to Madeira to celebrate the birthday of the Pocket Rocket, who tells me that the Sunday we are there is the date of the Funchal Half Marathon and if I sign up early it only costs 10 Euros. Bargain, done, booked.is was my second foreign HM, (the first in Palma in October 2015 which I ran with friends from Lliswerry Runners). And I must say what a fantastically well-organised, fun yet small low-key event it was. The whole day involved the Marathon starting 8:30am, then a 7k at 10:00am followed by the HM at 10:05.

I get to the start early to find that the event start line wasn’t there. I get a little worried thinking I’m at the wrong place, but then other runners start to arrive. Turns out that Madeiran’s are very laid bak and the start line inflatable and timing systems are put up slowly, smoothly and with minimum of fuss. By the time I find and return from the loo, relieved and refreshed 10 minutes later everything was good to go.

And we’re off. I had decided before the holiday started to treat this HM as a Long Slow Run (refer to previous blog) as I am still in the phase of putting miles in my legs. So starting slowly at the back of the field and deliberately holding myself back I enjoy the sites of runners from all over the world, seeing international vests from France, Denmark, Germany and the local club shirts. But I love seeing British clubs being represented too, and high five from a runner from Scarborough AC and Perth Road Runners soon follow.

Running toward the 5k mark brought me to my hotel where the Pocket Rocket is waiting with words of encouragement, and as I look at my watch 5K in 25 minutes for my LSR is too fast. But I felt good so I continue to go with the flow subsequently covering the first out and back 10k in 53 mins. This is a better second 5k and much more in plan with what I wanted.

Then onto 10 mile marker but only to realise that the number of runners had thinned considerably to where I had no-one for company and this is where I struggle. I do not like running on my own. With 10 miles in the tank in 1h27m I decided to run the Old Town out & back route (note this is done twice) in a very relaxed fashion, to enjoy the crowds along the cobbled streets shouting words of Portuguese encouragement (I hope that’s what it was).

Then approaching the last K of the run, I hear those magic words, “Well Done Lliswerry”. Who was that? On walking back to my hotel, I found the chap only to find out he does the Castles Relay for his club and is well versed in the support Lliswerry shows to everyone en-route and he felt it only appropriate to give me the same support. True gent and a wonderful example of what the running community is all about.

The only point of the run which was difficult is that all HM runners pass the finish line twice before actually finishing, and that is tough. It is perhaps the one part of the race I would look to improve on but other than this it was a wonderful experience in a wonderful city, on a wonderful island. I will do this again.

Us

Meet the team, Pocket Rocket, Trail Blazer and Insane Bolt here

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page