top of page

Welsh Masters Indoor Championships - Part 2


So yesterday was Day 2 of the Welsh Masters Champs. Our champs are held over 2 days, usually a week or 2 apart. I was planning to take part in the 60m and 400m.

I felt in good shape as 2 weeks before I had managed to get a nice bit of training whilst on holiday in Madeira. Keeping to my training plan and doing some active recovery runs most mornings along the coastal path not much more than 2 miles but good for the soul.

Madeira is also incredibly hilly so all the walking, of which there was much, kept me fit.

I had a good build up in the week running up to the champs with a few sessions with 'Team Lewis' focusing on speed and technique.

My 60m was fairly early about 1.15pm so about 12pm I start my jog, foam rolling, stretching and drills. I am joined by my mate and fellow Team Lewis Masters sprinter Vicky Fear. So we run through our warm-up together.

It is at this point I spot my husband who has arrived to watch and take some pics and my niece Emily and her mum and dad, not too long after my mum arrives. The nerves are going up a notch with every family arrival. I don't want to lose now with half my family here. Still, in my experience nerves are a good thing and often help with a bit more speed. something I am in definite need of in the 60m. I have been struggling lately with poor starts, something I want to put right today!

It's lovey having Vicky there to share the experience and I am starting to feel a little more relaxed as we are beckoned to the call room and the 'chairs of doom' as I call them where we are checked in to get our number checked by the officials and wait to be called to the start line, gulp...

It not long before we are up next and we walk up to the start.

I do all the usual preps, set up my blocks, have a quick check and run off from them. We are introduced to the crowd, the whistle goes and then there is hush..... On your marks, get set, bang!

I am off, not as quick as I should be, but pretty much with everyone else, within a few strides I take the lead. All I can think of is my family are here so pump those arms. I finish the race first in a time of 8.85, 200 hundreds of a second off a pb but happy with that as its my fastest time this year and puts me in a good place for the UK Indoor champs in March when it will be a lot tougher.

Vicky my mate also gets gold in the 35 age category so really pleased for her. What is even more remarkable about Vicky is that she did a parkrun and played hockey the day before and she is carrying quite a few niggles, too numerous to mention in this blog but this girl has heart and talent in abundance and I am lucky to have her as a good friend :)

It is great after the race to rush up and see my family, I am chuffed they have all come!

My next race is not until 6.15pm. To be honest I hadn't of been picked to represent Wales in the 400m later this month I might have given it a miss as its the last race of the day and I now have to wait 5 hours until my next race. Plus I have been a little off my best with my 400 so am hoping to get under 70 seconds to put in a good performance for the Welsh.

On the plus side I can watch a great afternoons athletics and get to spend time with my Team :)

We watch some great performances from Team Lewis

In the Masters Champs

Our coach Stuart Pearce got a pb in the M35 60m with a time of 8.1 and a magnificant gold medal

Mike Pollock got a pb 9.76 and an amazing Silver in the M55 60m race

In the open events

Conal Davies came back after a 6 year absence with a storming performance in the 200m

Tom Evans was awesome in the open 60 making the B final and was brilliant in his 200m

Carl McEwan and Joel Fowler were both amazing in the 400m

Great job team :)

Just after 5pm I suggest to Vicky we ought to warm up again. I dont think either of us our feeling it but we go through the motions again. I am feeling tired now its been a long day, all be it great fun :)

We get called a little earlier than expected so our race preparation is a bit rushed but to be honest I just want to get it done. There is just one masters race as 2 ladies have not turned up so we are all put into one race.

Now I am hoping for a fairly easy race I think on paper I am fastest I think if I can get close to 70 or just under that should be enough. How wrong I am!!

I have a race plan to get out quick and this I do I have taken the lead at around 100 and I have cut in from lane 2 at the marker still in the lead. We come through 200 at around 32 seconds a bit fast perhaps so I am just switching to cruise control, when on my left who is that, it's my mate Vicky right alongside me and having a real go. I am a bit shocked by her company, I don't know why, it is a race! With that I kick hard and to get a bit of distance, now I am worried as this was not my race plan and I am thinking about the other athletes and me now running out of steam. I manage to hold on for the win feeling quite strong but gasping for breath. I look at the clock and I am really surprised to see 67.87 some what under my 70 ish time prediction. Happy days :)

Vicky comes through to take the silver, not bad with her dodgy leg!

A great days athletics big shout out to all the officials and volunteers that make the event run so smoothly :)

Link to Video of races via our facebook page

60 metres race

400 metres race

Us

Meet the team, Pocket Rocket, Trail Blazer and Insane Bolt here

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page