top of page

The Accidental Track Session


It's Valentines day and I find myself solo for the night and with an offer of free baby sitting services, I naturally jump at the chance of a Tuesday night club session, the first club night of the year for me, with the promise of a Valentines Special - Feel The Love of Hills run. I shoot off through evening rush hour traffic to make it just in time to meet at the Tennis Centre.....only to find it's the wrong place! Despairingly I head back out and try to decide if I can make it across town to the Civic Centre, the odds are slim. Then I spot the Athletics stadium and remember Pocket Rocket and Insane Bolt are there a training, I'll pop in to see what they're up to instead.

It's busy with lots of sporty athletic looking people milling about. As I head out to track I'm spotted by a somewhat shocked Juliet and before I know it I'm out on track doing a warm up session (Juliet was concerned I might get cold sitting round a drafty stadium). Interestingly the warm up it consists of lots of drills, walking lunges, bum flicks, knee raises and my old favourite, grapevines to name just a few.

Warm up complete, I join Neil in his Endurance training which consists of 1200m (that's 3 laps round the track) five times at a speedy (not sprinty) and most importantly consistent pace.

Straight away I set off too fast and find myself blowing up before I even hit 400m, seriously regretting popping in to say hello! This is tough and I have another 12 laps to go...albeit with 4 mins rest every 3 laps. The second go I try to keep it steady, still huffing and puffing, doubting I can do 1 more lap never mind 9 more. Thankfully the next two sessions Neil paces me round (with the exception of the final laps, where he pushes of and I try my damndest to hang onto his heels....and fail).

It's getting late now and we decide to forgo our final 1200m and opt for some strides. Which, once I get my legs and arms in sync I get a gliding sensation, lightly bounding along. Something to practice a bit more and incorporate into my daily runs possibly. Juliet's pops over (Juliet's session consisting of overall shorter distance but much higher intensity and a time trial) and we walk a final lap of the track as a cool down.

I have to say, I always knew track was hard, hence my avoidance of track sessions. I am a self confessed lazy runner but as exhausted as I felt there was a part of me that enjoyed the experience. I can certainly see the advantages, the training and discipline will pay dividends, you just have to put the effort in and commit. For the time being, my goal is miles. My first full trail marathon takes place in 4 weeks but maybe in late autumn I may give track a go...just maybe :)

Us

Meet the team, Pocket Rocket, Trail Blazer and Insane Bolt here

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page