top of page

The Outdoor Season Ups and Downs...

I had been looking forward to the start of the outdoors and in my first outdoor block session training had managed to tweak my hamstring. I knew it wasn't too bad but was expecting to be out for several weeks when it first happened. Anyway not leaving anything to chance I got myself along to see my Physio - Andrew Seary. He gave me some great treatment and a plan. He thought I wouldn't be ready for the club championships but might make Yate on the 10th April...

As it was I was able to compete in the club champs. After much testing and discussion with my coach. I had entered a 100m on the Tuesday 4th April and 200m on the Thursday.

The club were struggling for volunteers and we had lots of junior entries so for both races I was delayed by well over an hour. Neither race was particularly inspiring but I came through both injury free. The 100 although not a pb was my fastest start to a season for 100 and the 200 well the least said about that the better. I decided not to let it get me down as the night had really chilled off so it was onto to Yate with a smile...

I was really looking forward to Yate, a really well organised event and conditions other than a slightly illegal wind in the 60m were perfect.

I slightly misjudged my start time and had to rush to the start not having used my blocks before the start... I did not get the best time but would have had a pb if the wind had been legal - 8.57s - happy days I thought a good start.

Next it was the 100. I was in a lane next to another Newport Harrier. I did not know her but I decided I was going to try and stick with her as best I could. I got a good start and kept pushing her all the way to the line, 13.88 awesome, a new pb I was stoked :) I was not expecting to be in pb form this early in the season although if I was to get into the European Masters final in the summer I will need to push on from here :)

I was having a really great time. All of the team were running well and were having pbs and seasons best. It was also great seeing all my masters friends who were also doing really well.

Next up and my final race of the day was the 200m, not normally my best and I was seriously thinking of giving it a miss. So glad I didn't... BOOM another massive pb 28.86. I don't even know where it came from. I had lots of youngsters around me that I was close to and I think that just pulled me though.

Another good piece of news was my times for the 100 and 200 are now Newport Harriers age category records for W45. Let's see if I can take them down a bit more this season :)

My next 2 races were in the Welsh Masters on the 25th April, the times weren't great but I won the races from a masters perspective. Again the conditions weren't the best, cold and windy. I am looking forward to the May competitions which include the Brewer Games on the 1st May and The Welsh Regional Champs on the 14th May, a chance for medals. We have a Midlands league match on the 6th May and a sprints open in Cardiff at the end of May. Plenty of time to work on my technique and post some good times :)

I just love racing :)

Us

Meet the team, Pocket Rocket, Trail Blazer and Insane Bolt here

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page