top of page

May The Force Be With You

Well May did not start well....

On the 1st May I was looking forward to competing at Cheltenham's Brewer Games I had entered the 100, 400 and 200 to keep my options open and depending on the weather conditions.

I arrive in plenty of time and I was feeling good. I had a great warm up, running through some new drills and competition prep that I had agreed that week with my coach.

The race however was over in a blink of an eye and slow by my 2017 standards 14.2 I was hoping for sub 14. Not sure what went wrong but it didn't feel good I was a bit slow out of the blocks and I think my technique was poor. I also started to feel unwell soon after and decided to jack the day in as the weather was turning. A long way to travel, Cardiff to Cheltenham, for 14.2 seconds ho hum.

Onwards and upwards... I decided by the next day to put it behind me and look forward to my next competition the Midlands league with the Harriers.

I was surprised when I saw the team sheet to be down for a 400, 4 x 400 relay leg a 4 x 100 relay leg and the discus. I didn't think I would make the team and just help out with a discus and guest 100!

When we arrived in Telford it was a bit grim to say the least. There was little shelter and it was freezing. I had on 5 layers on top. 2 lots of leggings and winter gloves. Not pb weather I was thinking to myself. I also had to hang around for 4 hours before I was up!

My first race was a 400, I was in the 'B' race. I had a good warm up and thought I would just give it my best. A few days before I had been talking to one of my team mates Carl McKewen who was an experienced 400m runner. He had suggested kicking at 180 to go! I had never tried this before as I had not felt confident or strong enough to do this but I thought I would try his advice as it's important to learn about yourself and your racing!

The gun goes BANG and I am out and into my running quickly. I hit cruise control until about 200m to go and can see that one lady is way out in front but I am in the race and there is a lady in one of the outer lanes just in front of me. I decide to stick to my guns and kick for all I am worth at 180. I fly around the bend into the home straight and now I am flagging. I just keep trying to open my stride pumping my arms and not to let anyone pass me. I cross the line in 2nd, well chuffed and a new pb 66.8 secs - well happy with that!

Next up the discus I am well off my best but it takes me 45 minutes to recover from the 400!

I then have the 100 and 400 relays I run decent enough legs in both, we come 2nd in the 4 x 100 and 3rd in the 400. I initially feel a little disappointed with my leg as I am the last runner and can't hold onto the 2nd spot this time. Later I discover I had run faster that the pb time earlier that day so don't feel so bad...

Next up was the East Regional Champs. I was down to do the 100, 400 and finish with the 200.

In the 100 I was trying to push for silver, alas I had to settle for bronze. I was racing with my masters buddy Vicky Fear and it was her first senior track and field outing.

As we were called to starters orders the rain decided to come down, which was nice! I got out of the blocks well but could not keep pace with the athlete to my left despite my best efforts. Immediately following the race I thought the time was slow as I had felt a bit jaded from racing the previous weekend and training in the week. My hamstring has been a bit tight and sore all week.

The time was wind assisted but would have been a pb 13.81 so I was happy in the end with the result and time.

My 400 was not my best and about 4 seconds slow than the previous week. The back straight was blustery and I again felt tired and heavy legged.

The 200 was more of an effort as I had to wait all day to race it. Having got to the champs at 11.15am the race was 6.40pm. Still having my buddy Vicky Fear about made the time go quickly and the later half of the day the weather had improved.

As I enjoy my athletics journey I realise that there are so many elements to athletics, its not just about the training. You need to be strong in the mind and at events you have to remain focused to get the job done, there can be a lot of hanging around.

I had lane 8 for the 200, great I thought, not sure I have raced from lane 8 before. I much prefer chasing down than being chased. Still, whilst not a pb, I was happy with my time and took silver, Vicky taking bronze for her first senior medal. A great performance as she had done park run the day before an played 3 hockey matches!

Next up was Filton I did this a couple of times last year. Having learnt from this experience, I decided to enter just one event the 100m as this is early on in the programme of events, it saves hanging around for events that often run late.

This was the first Team Lewis road trip of the season. I had a lift pickup in Newport and 4 of us head off to Filton with Captain Stu at the helm (well more of a steering wheel really!)...

We arrive in plenty of time for a good warm up and I notice I feel quite bouncy which is a good sign. The ladies 100m race is up first I am thrown in with 4 senior girls. No other masters but I am happy with that. We get called up to the start, I set up my blocks feeling great and the sun is out. Its a bit windy but hey I am having a ball. We are called to our marks, its set and BANG!

I am out really quick and up with the first few steps. I am feeling strong and fast I pop up perhaps a little early from my drive phase but the race feels good and I am happy to come third beating 2 ladies half my age!

When the times come out I am a little disappointed its 14.0 flat but into a head wind and with manual timing I am happy enough. I seem to be running consistently, still more to come and need to improve my technique but all looking good for future big races to come.

Looking forward to the last race in May next week 'run with the wind' at Cardiff Stadium :)

Filton 23rd May 2017 Team Lewis Road Trip

The last event of May 'Run with the Wind' was finally here and we all arrived to near perfect conditions. I was feeling a little under the weather but on the whole the body at least felt good! I had a great warm up with Team Lewis, running through my foam rolling, drills and run offs.

I decided to use my own blocks and did my 3 quick sprint offs as practice before my race. I checked the notice board and I was in race 8 alongside my team mate 'Holly Brown'. Great this is what we had been hoping for as we have been pushing each other in training and normally bring the best out of each other!

We lined up next to each other, Holly Brown in lane 4 and Pocket Rocket in lane 5.

On your marks, set, BANG! I tried to react off the blocks as quickly as Holly Brown but she is like lightening away from me but not too far. I don't think I had a bad start, just that Holly is a great starter!

I keep her close to me and drive for all I am worth I can start to feel that I am catching her. I am trying to think about my form and trying to keep my stride long, not easy for a umpa lumpa!

I dip on the line like my self depends on it. Now I have never beaten Holly Brown in competition and I think I have just got it on the dip. We high 5 each other and shake hands with our other competitors. On the way back to the start we both discuss the fact that neither of us felt as fast as our race in Filton and it didn't feel as smooth. Possibly both trying too hard and losing technique and form.

We have to wait a bit of time for the results and turns out Holly and I have exactly the same time 13.85 a pb for both of us. So got to be happy for that. A nice race to finish May on :)

Next up is June, a busy month for me with the Welsh Masters Championships and The UK Championships all in one month. Still not quite as fast as I would like... More work to do in training on holding that technique. Still I am buzzing after the race. Absolutely loved it! :)

Team Lewis Does 'Run with the Wind'

Us

Meet the team, Pocket Rocket, Trail Blazer and Insane Bolt here

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page