top of page

It's the Final Countdown


Welsh Team at the Inter Area Challenge

OK wow July is here and this month its all about Denmark and the exciting prospect of competing in the European Masters Championships. All I need to do is stay injury free, work on my technique and enjoy my first big champs abroad. What could go wrong!

First up was a little matter of competing in the Masters Inter Area Challenge. I am down to do the 400m and a 4 x 100 relay leg.

I don't run many 400s its not my best distance but I am happy to run whatever I am given with the Welsh Vest on!

I go up in a car with a few others from my club and arrive in plenty of time to relax and have a coffee and then take my time warming up and running though my drills. The venue in Sollihull is a nice one. There are some paths next to the track that are a little shady to put myself though my paces. I feel a little tight and I am not feeling it but I am here now so just need to man up and get on with it.

My race is up now and I set up my blocks and do my usual run off to check my settings. The conditions are perfect and just decide to go for it and see what happens. At bang I drive out of the blocks and expect to at least catch up a few, I am a quick starter normally compared with other 400m runners due to my sprints background.... Ok I think try and hang in there and keep as close as you can. There is a lady just ahead on my outside so I decide I am going to get as close to her as I can and kick and kick with about 180m to go. I do this but make no inroads into her on the plus side she is not pulling away either. I decide one last effort is called for, I do have the Welsh vest on and every point is crucial! I kick again and this time I have her I can see her tiring and manage to take 2nd place and smash my pb 66.2 - Happy Days

I enjoy watching my team perform well throughout the day and we seem to be doing well. They keep updating us on how all the nations are doing and we are in 4th throughout the day :(

The last few events of the day are all the relay the ladies 35+ team is up first- that's me and some very fast ladies in it. I go on the first leg to set things up nicely and with the last lady to go we are in 2 place. Jo Frost is on the last leg and manages to pip 1st place. We finish with a total time 52.50, this is great and would have got us silver in the World champs in Perth.

At the end of the day we think the team overall is in 4th place but a couple of days later it turns out we came 2nd which is a terrific result. You can read more about the inter area challenge here

Not got too many races in July so enjoy getting stuck into training and work hard on my technique which is still not the best. My biggest issue seems to be running tight and need to relax more and not tense up...

Next up is the Cheltenham Summer Series, another road trip with Team Lewis, now in the run up to the race on the Monday I have felt a slight tweak in my side but other than feeling a bit stiff dont give too much thought to it. I warm up and go though my drills and warm up as usual. I am feeling good and strong and looking forward to my race. There are 6 x 100s and I am in the 3rd race.

I run though my race visualisation and I am up!

The gun goes bang and I see the athletes get out ahead of me. I feel slow to react but into my running quickly and again feel fast and strong I cross the line in 3rd I think but know that my bad start will have cost me and cost me it does 14.0 flat. Still what I have executed on reflection is a more relaxed race and technique, just a crap start - one day I will run a perfect race, lol but that day is not today!

I have no time to dwell as next up is the 200m I keep moving and go through some drills and strides in readiness for the next race.

This time there are 3 x 200s and I am in the 2nd.

This time I get out better on the b of bang and get out to 50m as planned. I have athletes on my inside and outside and I am in contention. I try to float until the bend and do the slingshot out. I feel like I execute the race really well and I am hoping for a pb, its 28.9 just outside my 28.88 but on manual timing I am happy enough and its a confidence builder for Denmark. I will need to run quicker but I feel if I am in a good race I will at least have a chance of a pb...

I have thoroughly enjoyed the trip and reflect on my performances at training the following night. I am feeling a little stiff through my side but don't give too much thought to it...

However as the session goes on I realise that something is clearly wrong with my side so much in fact I cant complete the session and I can't sprint - DISASTER!!!

With Denmark now just 2 weeks away I cant just lave anything to chance, so its into the Physio for a treatment and advice. The lady I see seems to think I have strained my intercostal muscle in my rib cage... She gives me rehab, I book in for another session the following week and she gives me some stretches to do. She seems to think I have time for it to recover.

At the time of writing this blog whilst there has been some improvement I am now not confident of being fit enough. Only time will tell. I will be going to Denmark as I have paid and I will have to be patient and see what luck comes my way. Fingers crossed I will get to race a little....

Us

Meet the team, Pocket Rocket, Trail Blazer and Insane Bolt here

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page