top of page

2 for 1.....

I am looking forward to the 400m, a chance perhaps for a pb.

My race is 1.20 pm on the Monday. I don't expect a semi final place but will have a bash.

I move over to the warm up hall in plenty of time. I run through my warm up which is the same as for the 100m.

I am surprised at how nervous I feel. For the 100 I was nervous and pumped. Here I feel nervous and I am just not feeling it. Not sure why i feel this way... I still feel fairly inexperienced at 400m and can be quite hit and miss. Plus not sure how my side will react to the different test of a 400m... Neil is also recording via live facebook feed... Perhaps I am just a wimp!

By the time I get out into the stadium with all the other ladies in my W45 heats I am all but bricking it... Still, I have a few run offs until my heat. I am trying to remain focused...

I am in heat 4 lane 1. When it's my heat I set up my blocks and do a few practice run offs.

On your marks, we are held for ages.... set, Bang!

I drive out hard and fast as planned and then hit cruise control. Possibly a bit too early but I am in the race and keeping in touch with the leaders. I am feeling strong and kick at 180m. I am still in contention and have another cheeky kick on the final bend. I then keep driving and working hard down the home straight. I feel sick and a bit light headed as I cross the line. I am certain it is quick and I feel like I have given it all.

Later I find out it's my 3rd fastest time 67.27 not quite as good as I thought but the plus side is I qualify in 13th place. Now at this point you think I would be pleased and I sort of am but it means I have to run another 400 later the same day.. Joy!

I decide it's time to head off for some physio as I have done a lot of racing in the last few days and a lot of walking.

I see a young lady from the British physio team Vicky, she is fab. She is a chiropractor and manipulates my out of kilter body and I feel pretty good after the experience. Never seen a chiropractor before.

The 2nd 400 for a place in the final is at 7.20pm. I am feeling less nervous about the semi and feel more relaxed. As I walk over to the call room I am listening to Frankie Goes To Hollywood's 'Relax and Spandau Valley's 'Gold....

I have pretty much given my all in the heat so I am not expecting much. I am right not to expect much and crash out finishing 15th out if 16. Not bad for a non 400m runner!

I have given my all and again really enjoyed the experience.

All is looking good for next year when I move up an age category and look a lot more competitive.

I am more motivated than ever to start my training for next year 😎🚀🚀🚀

Us

Meet the team, Pocket Rocket, Trail Blazer and Insane Bolt here

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page